YuMOVE Joint Range Compared: Essential, Senior and Max Strength

PawPicked is reader-supported: we may earn a commission from links on this page.

YuMOVE sells three joint tablets for dogs on Amazon, and the choice between them mostly comes down to your dog's age, then your vet's view, then how fussy you are about pack size. The three are Essential, Senior (High Strength) and Max Strength for Senior Dogs. They are close relatives, so the differences are subtle, and the listings leave gaps that are worth knowing about.

The listings side by side

Essential Senior (High Strength) Max Strength Senior
Intended age Adult dogs; title says 6 to 8, a bullet says 5 to 8 Senior dogs aged 8+ Senior dogs over 8
Tablets per pack 300 120 120
Flavour Seafood Not stated Unflavoured
Named ingredients Glucosamine, chondroitin, green lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid ActivEase GLM, added fish oil, N-acetyl-D-glucosamine, hyaluronic acid Glucosamine, chondroitin, green lipped mussel; 20 percent more N-acetyl-D-glucosamine
Per-tablet amounts listed Yes No No
Daily directions listed Yes, by dog size No No
Allergen note Shellfish None given None given
Packaging Not stated Letter box ready Letter box ready
Amazon.co.uk rating at time of writing 4.6 from 18,418 4.8 from 355 4.7 from 711

What actually differs

Age band. This is the clearest split. Essential is for adult dogs, though its listing contradicts itself on the exact ages, and Senior and Max are both aimed at dogs over 8. If you are on the borderline, read the pack, because the Essential page cannot settle it.

What the senior versions add. The Senior listing credits added fish oil for extra omega-3s and names N-acetyl-D-glucosamine as helping maintain joint structure. The Max listing then goes a step further, claiming 20 percent more N-acetyl-D-glucosamine, without saying 20 percent more than what. That is the only strength difference the listings put in numbers, and the baseline is missing.

Detail on the page. Essential is the only one with a full ingredient panel and per-tablet amounts: 250mg glucosamine HCl, 150mg green lipped mussel powder and 1.5mg hyaluronic acid among them. For the other two we cannot say what a tablet contains. That is a limit of the listings, not proof the products are less transparent on the pack.

Evidence of satisfaction. Ratings are high across the board, but the numbers behind them differ enormously. Essential has more than 18,000, Max 711 and Senior 355. A 4.8 from 355 people is not directly comparable with a 4.6 from 18,418, and none of the three shows results from a trial.

Advertisement

Allergens. Only Essential lists one explicitly: shellfish. The other two do not give an allergen panel, but both name or imply green lipped mussel and Senior adds fish oil. Treat them all as unsuitable for a shellfish-sensitive dog unless your vet says otherwise.

Working out the real cost

Pack size makes the three hard to compare. Essential holds 300 tablets and the other two 120, and only Essential gives daily directions on its listing, one to four tablets a day by size of dog. To compare fairly, find the daily directions for your dog on each pack, divide the tablet count by the daily number to get days per pack, then divide the pack price by those days. Check the current price on Amazon before you start. A tablet that costs more per pack can still work out cheaper or dearer per day depending on dose.

The decision, in practice

Start with your dog's age and with a vet conversation about whether a joint supplement is appropriate at all, because stiffness has more than one cause. Limping, reluctance to jump and slowness to get up are all reasons to book that conversation. Be realistic about what to expect too: the evidence for joint supplements is modest, and the best any of these can claim is support.

Higher strength is not an upgrade you should take for its own sake. If a dog has never had a joint supplement, there is little reason to begin with the strongest. If a dog is already on one and the vet suggests more, that is when Max Strength enters the picture. Our single-product reviews, Essential, Senior and Max Strength, go into more depth on each.

For a wider look at the market, see our senior joint supplement roundup.

Which one suits which owner

Choose Essential if your dog is an adult below the senior bracket, you want a full ingredient list with per-tablet amounts before you buy, and you have no shellfish, fish or pork concerns. Confirm the age on the pack, since the listing gives two different ranges.

Choose Senior if your dog is 8 or over, you are starting a joint supplement for the first time, and you are comfortable that the listing is light on detail. Check the pack for directions and the full ingredient list.

Choose Max Strength if your dog is over 8, is already on a joint supplement, and your vet agrees that stepping up is reasonable. Treat the 20 percent figure as a claim with no stated baseline, and rely on your vet's judgement rather than the label.

Products in this article

Affiliate links β€” we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Up next